Go to the top
featured image

Chevron Readers Cup

Share on LinkedIn


The Chevron Readers’ Cup is now closed.

What is the Chevron Readers’ Cup?

The Chevron Readers’ Cup competition involves teams of students (maximum four per team) who study four individual books written by authors attending the Festival.

The first round is held in a central location and consists of a written quiz on the four books. The 16 teams with the highest scores in each age group go head to head in the finals held during the Festival.

What is the prize?

All winners are honoured at the Festival. The overall winning teams in each age group receive a trophy for their school.

Who can enter?

The competition has two categories:

  • Primary Schools (up to age 11)
  • Secondary Schools (ages 12 to 16)

It is held in both Arabic and English.

How to Enter: Please read carefully

Schools wishing to enter students in the Arabic competition should register here, while those entering in English should use the form below.

Terms and Conditions of Entry

By entering the competition, entrants agree to observe the terms and conditions of the Competition, which include permission for the Festival and the sponsor to publicise photographic images of the participating students in all stages of the competition in any promotional materials. Schools and students should be aware that they might need to obtain parental consent for this.

Judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into with regard to these decisions.

Please note that participating schools which do not adhere to the said terms and conditions will be disqualified.

Copyright of any material produced remains with Emirates Airline Festival of Literature.

How the competition will work

  • each school appoints a designated coordinator for the competition
  • teams must register online via the Festival website by 22nd October 2015
  • teams of students are chosen (containing no more than four people per team)
  • each school may enter two teams per age group
  • the list of books to be read will be published by 27 October 2015
  • schools purchase the books
  • questions are set by the Festival team in consultation with the authors
  • the first round will take place in a central location during the week beginning 17 January 2016
  • the sixteen top-scoring teams are identified and notified
  • these teams will be notified of the two new books to be studied for the final round
  • the teams read the new books
  • the final takes place on 10 March 2016

The Award Ceremony will follow the completion of the final round held during the 2016 Festival.


Enter Your Email