مارك إيفانز

Share on LinkedIn

55-Days-Book-Cover

مستكتشف بريطاني، وخبير استكشاف للحياة  للبرية وكاتب، ومتحدث مُلهٍم، وداعم للحياة البرية.

اهتم إيفانز بحياة البرية بسبب نشأته في ضواحي “شروب شاير”، وفي عام 1979 عندما كان في سن السابعة عشر، اختير للمشاركة في بعثة علمية، وتسلق جبال ” لينجين الألب”  لمدة 6 أسابيع في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية في النرويج، تحت إشراف جمعية منظمة الاستكشاف البريطانية، وقد قاد ثلاث رحلات استكشاف للجمعية، لـ “سفالبارد”، تجاوزت مدتها العشرين شهراً بين عام 1992 وعام 2002.

عاش وتنقل  بين دول الخليج لأكثر من عشرين عاماً ، وترحل في صحاريها وفيافيها، وقد أمضى 80 يوماً في رحلة بحثية على الجمال،  و55 يوماً في رحلة منفردة في الزورق من الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى اليمن، حيث قطع مسافة 1700 كم في قارب الكاياك، وقام برحلة أخرى بسيارات الدفع الرباعي من السعودية إلى عُمان، وقد منحته هذه الرحلات معرفة كبيرة بالمنطقة.

يتمتع إيفانز بزمالة “نادي الاستكشاف” في نيويورك والجمعية الملكية للجغرافيا ” في لندن.

حصل إيفانز على وسام الإمبراطورية البريطانية عام 2011 نظير جهوده  في استثمار الرحلات الخارجية في تقريب الثقافات، وتشجيع الحوار الحضاري بين قيادات المستقبل في العالم العربي والعالم الغربي. وهو الآن مديراً تنفيذياً لـ” Outward Bound ” بعُمان.

سيصدر كتابه ” عبور الربع الخالي قريباُ عن دار “Gilgamesh “، ويمكن التعرف على الكتاب عن طريق موقع الناشر.

Mark Evans

Share on LinkedIn

55-Days-Book-CoverMark Evans is a British explorer, field guide, author, motivational speaker and wilderness advocate.

Growing up in rural Shropshire saw Evans develop a passion for the outdoors. In 1979, at the age of 17 he was selected to take part in a six-week scientific research and mountaineering expedition to the Lyngen Alps in Arctic Norway, organised by The British Exploring Society, for whom he went on to lead three extended research expeditions to Svalbard for young people, totalling 20 months in the field between 1992 and 2002.

Some twenty years spent living and travelling extensively in the Gulf region, including 80-day camel expeditions, a 55-day 1,700 km solo kayak journey from UAE to Yemen, and extended, remote 4×4 journeys throughout Saudi Arabia and Oman, give Evans an unrivalled knowledge of the region. He is also a Fellow of both the Explorers Club of New York and the Royal Geographical Society in London.

Evans was awarded the MBE in 2011 for his work using outdoor journeys to connect cultures and promote intercultural dialogue between future leaders from the Arab and western world. He is currently Executive Director of Outward Bound Oman. His book Crossing The Empty Quarter will be published soon by Gilgamesh Publishing. You can read more about it on their website.