كاتي هيكمان

Share on LinkedIn

The-Aviary-Gate

مؤلفة شهيرة ، تتصدر أعمالها قوائم المبيعات، أصدرت ثمانية مؤلفات، منها كتابان غير روائيين،   هما، “ Daughters of Britannia“، و “المحظيات”، وتُعد روايتها “بوابة القفص”، التي تصدرت قوائم مبيعات الكتب من أكثر أعمالها الروائية شهرة.

بدأت مسيرة الكتابة، بكتاب الرحلات ” أحلام التنين المسالم”، وأتبعته برواية ” The Quetzal Summer”، ثم أصدرت كتاب، “A Trip to the Light Fantastic”، الذي اختارته ” الإندبندنت ضمن أفضل الكتب.
نشرت ” Daughters of Britannia”، الذي حاز على إشادة النقاد، عام 1999، وحل الكتاب بالمرتبة الثانية ضمن قائمة “صنداي تايمز” لقوائم الكتب، وقد قامت بتحويله لبرنامج تلفزيوني من  عشرين جزءاً لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية، القناة الرابعة، وبيع منه  أكثر من ربع مليون نسخة في جميع أنحاء العالم وكذلك بيع من كتابها  ”المحظيات”، 90000 نسخة، حتى الآن.

أمضت هيكمان السنوات العشر الماضية في العمل بروايات ثلاثية تاريخية، والتي تعود للقرن السابع عشر وتدور أحداثها في القسطنطينية والبندقية ولندن ومنطقة ويلتشاير الريفية، وقد كانت رواية” بوابة القفص أول هذه الثلاثية”، تلتها رواية “ماس بندار”، اللتان ترجمتا إلى 20 لغة. وسيتم نشر الرواية الأخيرة في الثلاثية، “البيت على بوابة الأساقفة”، من قبل دار بلومزبري في عام 2016.

ترأست هيكمان لجنة تحكيم “دولمان ستانفورد” لأدب الرحلات.

تعيش هيكمان في لندن مع أبنائها وزوجها الفيلسوف، أي.سي جرايلينج

Katie Hickman

Share on LinkedIn

The-Aviary-GateKatie Hickman is the author of eight books, including two bestselling works of non-fiction, Daughters of Britannia, and Courtesans, and a best-selling novel, The Aviary Gate.

Her first book was a travel book, Dreams of the Peaceful Dragon, which was followed by a novel, The Quetzal Summer. Her third book, A Trip to the Light Fantastic,became one of the Independent’s Books of the Year.

Daughters of Britannia was published to great critical acclaim in 1999, reaching number two in the Sunday Times lists. It was adapted by Katie into a twenty part series for BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour and has now sold 250,000 copies. It was followed by Courtesans, which has sold 90,000 copies to date.

Hickman has spent the last ten years working on a trilogy of historical novels set in seventeenth century Constantinople, Venice, London and rural Wiltshire. The first of these was The Aviary Gate, followed byThe Pindar Diamond. Between them they have been translated into 20 languages. The third and concluding novel, The House on Bishopsgate, will be published by Bloomsbury in 2016.

Hickman is a judge on 2015’s Dolman Standford’s prize for Travel Writing, and is included in the OUP Guide to Women Travellers, Wayward Women.

She lives in London with her two children.