جوليا جونسون

Share on LinkedIn

Humpy-Grumpys-Mission-Improbable-Cover-e1445147665830

جاءت جوليا جونسون إلى دبي في عام 1975، و أصبحت راوية قصص للأطفال  معروفة على قناة دبي 33، ثم عملت في الإنتاج الإذاعي في المملكة المتحدة. وفي إنتاج المسرح التعليمي في مدارس دبي والمملكة المتحدة ، عملت في العديد من المسرحيات وسجلت أكثر من 100 كتاب مسموع.

ألفت  أكثر من 12 قصة للأطفال منها “لؤلؤة الغواص”، و” A is for Arabia“، و” الجمل ذو السنام الواحدة ” و” حكاية الفهد”، و”الطاووس وحورية البحر”. وقد  حازت قصة “الفتى الفهد على لقب أفضل كتاب للأطفال من قبل  Kirkus في أمريكا، وقد وصفها  مايكل موربورغو، الحائز على جائزة المملكة المتحدة لأدب الطفولة بأنها ” قصة جميلة، رائعة، مليئة بالحكمة “. وفازت قصتها “سر السلحفاة”، على جائزة أفضل كتاب للطفولة في معرض الشارقة الدولي للكتاب 2014.

تركز قصص جونسون كثيراً على تاريخ وثقافة الجزيرة العربية. وهي تحرص على الحفاظ على رواية القصص التقليدية، وتشجيع الوعي بالتراث الغني في الخليج من خلال كتاباتها. وتقوم بجولات في المدارس والكليات والجامعات في جميع أنحاء منطقة الخليج لعقد ورش عمل وجلسات نقاش مع الطلاب والمعلمين.

إصداراتها القادمة ” مهمة همبي غرمبي غير الممكنة”، “أوبونتو”، “صيف الكركدن”، “بومة الصحراء”.

Julia Johnson

Share on LinkedIn

Humpy-Grumpys-Mission-Improbable-Cover-e1445147665830Julia Johnson came to Dubai in 1975, and soon became a familiar face reading children’s stories on Dubai Channel 33, subsequently appearing in radio productions in the UK. She has toured schools in Dubai and the UK in Theatre-in-Education productions, acted in several stage plays and recorded more than 100 audio books.

She has written more than a dozen stories for children including The Pearl DiverA is for ArabiaOne Humpy Grumpy CamelThe Cheetah’s Tale and The Peacock and The MermaidThe Leopard Boy won a Kirkus starred review in America, and was endorsed by former UK Children’s Laureate and award-winning children’s author Michael Morpurgo as ‘a beautiful story, a wise and wonderfully told tale’. The Turtle Secret won the award for Best International Children’s Book at the 2014 Sharjah Book Fair.

Johnson’s stories frequently focus on the history and culture of the Arabian Peninsula. She is keen to preserve and continue the oral tradition of storytelling, and to encourage an awareness of the rich and colourful heritage of the Gulf through her writing. She tours schools, colleges and universities throughout the Gulf with talks and workshops for students and teachers.

Her upcoming books are Humpy Grumpy’s Mission Improbable, Ubuntu, Summer of the Rhino and Desert Owl.