أنتوني كالدربانك

Share on LinkedIn

بدأ أنتوني كالدربانك  ترجمة الأعمال العربية منذ أوائل تسعينات القرن الماضي، ترجم عدداً من الأعمال الأدبية المصرية، أبرزها “رادوبيس” لنجيب محفوظ، ورواية “ذات” للكاتب صنع الله إبراهيم، وأعمال ميرال الطحاوي، وروايتان للكاتب السعودي يوسف المحيميد، وقد ترجم مجموعات القصص القصيرة، آخر مترجماته مجموعة المحيميد،  “سر بيت الموت”، ويعكف الآن على ترجمة مختارات قصصية للكاتبة السودانية الجنوبية، “ستيلا غاتانو”.

نُشِرت مترجماته ضمن كتب المنتخبات الأدبية المعاصرة، مثل، مجموعة “أزرار الكمان”، ومجموعة “مدينة” التي حررتها الشاعرة جمانة حداد، ومشروع بيروت 39. ترجم عدداً كبيراً من النصوص لمجلة بانيبال، وفي عام 2010، ترجم نصاً من رواية عبده خال ترمي بشرر، الحائزة على الجائزة العالمية للرواية العربية، وفي عام 2012 شارك في تحرير المجموعة المترجمة،     ” أصوات جديدة من الجزيرة العربية”

شغل منصب أستاذ اللغة العربية والترجمة في جامعة سالفورد، المملكة المتحدة في الفترة (1987 – 1990)؛  وحاضر في مجالات الترجمة ونظرياتها في المؤتمرات والملتقيات الثقافية والأدبية الدولية، وأقام ورش للترجمة في مهرجان طيران الإمارات للآداب.

يقيم في الشرق الأوسط منذ سنين طويلة، ويعيش الآن في تونس، ويشغل منصب مدير المجلس الثقافي البريطاني.

Anthony Calderbank

Share on LinkedIn

Anthony Calderbank has been a translator of Arabic literature since the early nineties. He has translated a number of Egyptian novels including Rhadopis of Nubia by Najib Mahfouz, Zaat by Sonallah Ibrahim, books by Miral Al-Tahawy, and two novels by Saudi author Yousef Al-Mohaimeed. He has also translated short stories and his most recent translation is Yousef Al-Mohaimeed’s The Secret of the House of Death. He is currently working on a selection of short stories by South Sudanese writer Stella Gaitano.
He has contributed to a number of anthologies of modern Arabic Literature including Unbuttoning the Violin, the collection Madinah, edited by Joumana Haddad, and the Beirut 39 project. He has also translated numerous pieces for Banipal Magazine. In 2010, he translated an excerpt from Abdo Khal’s novel Spewing Sparks as Big as Castles, which went on to win the Arab Booker Prize. In 2012 he jointly edited a collection of Saudi short stories, New Voices of Arabia.
He has taught translation at the University of Salford; has spoken on translation and translation theory at international conferences and cultural gatherings and has conducted translation workshops for the British Council and the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature.

He has lived in the Middle East for many years and is currently based in Tunis where he is Director of the British Council Libya.